The Stardust Thief by Chelsea Abdullah

For fans of The City of Brass, The Stardust Thief is a story where the existence of jinn is recognized by society, but they are also hunted due to the fact that they are inhuman and the healing power in their blood. This book follows a few main characters: Loulie al-Nazari, a young woman who sells powerful jinn relics, and Mazen, the sultan’s son who would rather listen to and tell stories rather than join his brother’s Forty Thieves.

Readers will recognize some of the stories in The Stardust Thief. Loulie and Mazen are sent on a perilous journey to find the magical lamp in which a jinn is imprisoned. Readers will also recognize a retelling of Arabian Nights within the story. Throughout the book, multiple stories are told and the characters encounter a variety of threats. They face betrayal, death, and much more.

This book is a fun adventure, and as mentioned before this is a great pick for those who loved The City of Brass (the Daevabad Trilogy). I can’t wait for the next book in this trilogy to be released! You can find The Stardust Thief at Langley-Adams Library.

– Darcy Lepore, Library Director

The Stardust Thief by Chelsea Abdullah
Thanksgiving hours: OPEN 10-1:30 on Wednesday 11/23, CLOSED on Thursday 11/24 and Friday 11/25.